Flask Logo Organic Chemistry at CU Boulder

CHEM 3341: Laboratory for Organic Chemistry II

This lab course is for biochemistry and non-chemistry majors. Chem 3341 is a continuation of Chem 3321, Organic Chemistry I Lab. The laboratory techniques learned in 3321 are used to carry out reactions in aromatic substitution, organometallic chemistry, oxidation and reduction chemistry, esterifications, aldol condensations, and Wittig chemistry. A significant portion of the semester is devoted to separating and determining the structure of unknown organic compounds, as well as verifying the identification of compounds synthesized in lab.

TA office hours and emails are posted here.

LabDayTimeLocationTA
201M10:00 AM-12:50 PMEKLC M1B20Aaron Crossman
202M10:00 AM-12:50 PMEKLC M1B25Zepeng Lei
211M1:30 PM-4:20 PMEKLC M1B20Zhenhao Chen
212M1:30 PM-4:20 PMEKLC M1B25Olivia Jenks
221M5:00 PM-7:50 PMEKLC M1B20Alexis Myers
222M5:00 PM-7:50 PMEKLC M1B25Shaofeng Huang
231T10:00 AM-12:50 PMEKLC M1B20Aaron Crossman
232T10:00 AM-12:50 PMEKLC M1B25Lauren Bodkin
241T1:30 PM-4:20 PMEKLC M1B20Brianna Callahan
242T1:30 PM-4:20 PMEKLC M1B25Olivia Jenks
251W10:00 AM-12:50 PMEKLC M1B20Aaron Crossman
252W10:00 AM-12:50 PMEKLC M1B25Lacey Wayment
261W1:30 PM-4:20 PMEKLC M1B20Brianna Callahan
262W1:30 PM-4:20 PMEKLC M1B25Alexis Myers
281R10:00 AM-12:50 PMEKLC M1B20Shaofeng Huang
292R1:30 PM-4:20 PMEKLC M1B20Shaofeng Huang

Experiment Schedule

Dates Experiment Bring Quiz Notes
Mon Jan 14 - Thu Jan 17 Lab check-in & NMR Review (nothing) No If you don't remember NMR from OChem 1, read up on it ahead of time. These sources are helpful:
Chapters 20 & 21 in the Lab Handbook and Chapter 13 in Loudon; Spectroscopy Tutorial and NMR Theory Tutorial on this web site.
The in-class Spectroscopy Worksheet, the Spectroscopy Homework, and the Practical NMR lab are not due as part of this lab, but they may be helpful.
Mon Jan 21 - Thu Jan 24 No labs
Mon Jan 28 - Thu Jan 31 Exp. 14: Epoxidation of Cholesterol Prelab Yes (SQ Answers) This is the first experiment this term that has a full lab report associated with it. Be sure to print a copy of the lab report rubric and attach it to your lab report when you turn it in at the next lab session. The Handbook contains a chapter on writing lab reports.
Lab Safety (for review!)
Mon Feb 4 - Thu Feb 7 Exp. 15: Diels-Alder Reaction Prelab Yes (SQ Answers) NMR spectrum of the adduct. You will need the Handbook supplements on Green Chemistry and NMR Coupling Constants.
Mon Feb 11 - Thu Feb 14 Exp. 16: Electrophilic Aromatic Substitution Prelab Yes (SQ Answers)
Mon Feb 18 - Thu Feb 21 Exp. 17: Microscale Column Chromatography Prelab Yes (SQ Answers) See the section on how to run a flash column in the Column Chromatography Section.
Mon Feb 25 - Thu Feb 28 Exp. 18: Identification of Unknowns, day 1 Prelab Yes (SQ Answers) Identification of Unknowns rubric
A visual guide to this lab
NMR spectra for all compounds
Mon Mar 4 - Thu Mar 7 Exp. 18: Identification of Unknowns, day 2 (nothing) No The ID of Unknowns paper is due three lab periods from now.
Mon Mar 11 - Thu Mar 14 Exp. 19: Reduction of Ketones Prelab Yes (SQ Answers)
Mon Mar 18 - Thu Mar 21 Exp. 20: Wittig Reaction Prelab Yes (SQ Answers) You will need the Handbook supplements on Green Chemistry and NMR Coupling Constants.
Mon Mar 25 - Thu Mar 28 No labs
Mon Apr 1 - Thu Apr 4 Exp. 21: Grignard Dyes Prelab, ID of Unknowns paper Yes (SQ Answers) You will need the Handbook supplement on UV-Visible and Fluorescence Spectroscopy.
Mon Apr 8 - Thu Apr 11 Exp. 22: Liquid Crystals Prelab Yes (SQ Answers)
Mon Apr 15 - Thu Apr 18 Exp. 23: Fischer Esterification Prelab Yes (SQ Answers) NMR spectra of all 5 esters. Note that these are for the methyl esters, not the ethyl esters, so you will have to keep this in mind when comparing your own spectra.
Mon Apr 22 - Thu Apr 25 Exp. 24: Aldol Condensation Prelab Yes (SQ Answers)
Mon Apr 29 - Thu May 2 Lab Check-out & Final Quiz Buff Onecard Yes For the final quiz, you should review the study questions and prelab quizzes.