Flask Logo Organic Chemistry at CU Boulder

CHEM 3341: Laboratory for Organic Chemistry II

This lab course is for biochemistry and non-chemistry majors. Chem 3341 is a continuation of Chem 3321, Organic Chemistry I Lab. The laboratory techniques learned in 3321 are used to carry out reactions in aromatic substitution, organometallic chemistry, oxidation and reduction chemistry, esterifications, aldol condensations, and azo dye chemistry. A significant portion of the semester is devoted to determining the structure of unknown organic compounds, both theoretically in the spectroscopy section and practically in the separation and identification of an unknown compound, as well as verifying the identification of compounds synthesized in lab.

TA office hours and emails are posted here.

LabDayTimeLocationTA
201M1:00 PM-3:50 PMEKLC M1B65Matthew Farmer
211M5:00 PM-7:50 PMEKLC M1B65Yiming Hu
221T9:00 AM-11:50 AMEKLC M1B65Shafer Soars
231T1:00 PM-3:50 PMEKLC M1B65Yiming Hu
241W1:00 PM-3:50 PMEKLC M1B65Shafer Soars
251W5:00 PM-7:50 PMEKLC M1B65Yiming Hu
261R9:00 AM-11:50 AMEKLC M1B65Alyssa Scarbrough
271R1:00 PM-3:50 PMEKLC M1B65Yaohao Li
282R5:00 PM-7:50 PMEKLC M1B65Yaohao Li
291F1:00 PM-3:50 PMEKLC M1B65Dayan Wei

Experiment Schedule

Dates Experiment Bring Quiz Notes
Mon Aug 28 - Fri Sep 1 Lab check-in & NMR Review (nothing) No If you don't remember NMR from OChem 1, read up on it ahead of time. These sources are helpful:
Chapters 18 & 20 in the Lab Handbook and Chapter 13 in Loudon; Spectroscopy Tutorial and NMR Theory Tutorial on this web site.
The in-class Spectroscopy Worksheet, the Spectroscopy Homework, and the Practical NMR lab are not due as part of this lab, but they may be helpful.
Tue Sep 5 - Mon Sep 11 Exp. 14: Epoxidation of Cholesterol Prelab Yes (SQ Answers) From this point on, Monday sections will do each experiment after all the other sections.
Tue Sep 12 - Mon Sep 18 Exp. 15: Diels-Alder Reaction Prelab Yes (SQ Answers) NMR spectrum of the adduct. You will need the Handbook supplements on Green Chemistry and NMR Coupling Constants.
Tue Sep 19 - Mon Sep 25 Exp. 16: Electrophilic Aromatic Substitution Prelab Yes (SQ Answers)
Tue Sep 26 - Mon Oct 2 Exp. 17: Microscale Column Chromatography Prelab Yes (SQ Answers) See the section on how to run a flash column in the Column Chromatography Section.
This is the first experiment this term that has a full lab report associated with it. Be sure to print a copy of the lab report rubric and attach it to your lab report when you turn it in at the next lab session. The Handbook contains a chapter on writing lab reports.
Lab Safety (for review!)
Tue Oct 3 - Mon Oct 9 Exp. 18: Identification of Unknowns, day 1 Prelab Yes (SQ Answers) Identification of Unknowns rubric
A visual guide to this lab
NMR spectra for all compounds
Tue Oct 10 - Mon Oct 16 Exp. 18: Identification of Unknowns, day 2 (nothing) No The ID of Unknowns paper is due three lab periods from now.
Tue Oct 17 - Mon Oct 23 Exp. 19: Reduction of Ketones Prelab Yes (SQ Answers)
Tue Oct 24 - Mon Oct 30 Exp. 20: Wittig Reaction Prelab Yes (SQ Answers) You will need the Handbook supplements on Green Chemistry and NMR Coupling Constants.
Tue Oct 31 - Mon Nov 6 Exp. 21: Grignard Dyes Prelab, ID of Unknowns paper Yes (SQ Answers) You will need the Handbook supplement on UV-Visible and Fluorescence Spectroscopy.
Tue Nov 7 - Mon Nov 13 Exp. 22: Liquid Crystals Prelab Yes (SQ Answers)
Tue Nov 14 - Fri Nov 17 Exp. 23: Fischer Esterification Prelab Yes (SQ Answers) NMR spectra of all 5 esters. Note that these are for the methyl esters, not the ethyl esters, so you will have to keep this in mind when comparing your own spectra.
Mon Nov 20 - Fri Nov 24 No labs
Mon Nov 27 Monday labs complete Exp. 23: Fischer Esterification Prelab Yes (SQ Answers) NMR spectra of all 5 esters. Note that these are for the methyl esters, not the ethyl esters, so you will have to keep this in mind when comparing your own spectra.
Tue Nov 28 - Mon Dec 4 Exp. 24: Aldol Condensation Prelab Yes (SQ Answers) You will need the Handbook supplements on Green Chemistry and UV-Visible and Fluorescence Spectroscopy.
Tue Dec 5 - Mon Dec 11 Lab Check-out & Final Quiz Buff Onecard Yes For the final quiz, you should review the study questions and prelab quizzes.