Flask Logo Organic Chemistry at CU Boulder

CHEM 3321: Laboratory for Organic Chemistry I

This lab course is for biochemistry and non-chemistry majors. A large part of Chem 3321 is spent learning techniques in organic chemistry, including TLC, distillation, extraction, crystallization, and IR spectroscopy. Once these techniques are mastered, they are employed in the final four labs of the semester. Two laboratory periods are devoted to working with molecular models sets to study nomenclature, conformational analysis, and stereochemistry.

TA office hours and emails are posted here.

LabDayTimeLocationTA
101M1:00 PMEKLC M1B65Sara Robertson
111M5:00 PMEKLC M1B65Josh Kamps
121T9:00 AMEKLC M1B65Aaron Hinds
131T1:00 PMEKLC M1B65Aaron Hinds
132W9:00 AMEKLC M1B65Dylan Mori
133W9:00 AMEKLC M1B35Zhenhao Chen
141W1:00 PMEKLC M1B65Eric Miller
151W5:00 PMEKLC M1B65Eric Miller
161R9:00 AMEKLC M1B65Dylan Mori
171R1:00 PMEKLC M1B65Sara Robertson
181R5:00 PMEKLC M1B65Mitch Magrini
182R5:00 PMEKLC M1B35Zhenhao Chen
184R5:00 PMEKLC M1B25Josh Kamps

Experiment Schedule

Dates Experiment Bring Quiz Notes
Mon Jan 15 - Fri Jan 19 No labs (Week of MLK Day)
Mon Jan 22 - Fri Jan 26 Lab Check-in & Exp. 1: Lab Safety & IR Spectroscopy Experiment Manual Yes Be sure to read the safety chapter in the handbook before lab. In case you haven't purchased the lab books yet, Experiment 1 and the safety chapter are available as as PDFs. This Lab Safety Movie may also help.
IR Tutorial
Mon Jan 29 - Fri Feb 2 Exp. 2: NMR Spectroscopy (nothing) No Chapter 18 & Chapter 20 in the Lab Handbook and Chapter 13 in Loudon; Spectroscopy Tutorial and NMR Theory Tutorial on this web site.
The in-class Spectroscopy Worksheet (in the experiment manual) is due before you leave today. The Spectroscopy Homework is due later. Download this file and print the pages you are assigned.
Mon Feb 5 - Fri Feb 9 Exp. 3: Modeling Conformations, ChemDraw & Excel Completed Spectroscopy Homework, laptop if you have one Yes (NMR quiz) You can check out a model set if you don't have one. You can also save time by downloading and installing ChemDraw ahead of time.
Mon Feb 12 - Fri Feb 16 Exp. 4: Practical NMR Laptop if you have one No You will need to download and install MestreNova. NMR data files can be downloaded for this lab.
Mon Feb 19 - Fri Feb 23 Exp. 5: Thin Layer Chromatography and Melting Point Prelab Yes (SQ Answers) This is the first experiment this term that has a full lab report associated with it. Be sure to print a copy of the lab report rubric and attach it to your lab report when you turn it in at the next lab session.
TLC procedure and more
Melting points
Melting point movie (10:45 into the Crystallization movie)
Mon Feb 26 - Fri Mar 2 Exp. 6: Extraction Prelab Yes (SQ Answers) Extraction procedure
Extraction movie
Remember to save the product from this lab for the next lab.
Mon Mar 5 - Fri Mar 9 Exp. 7: Recrystallization Prelab Yes (SQ Answers) Recrystallization movie
Recrystallization procedure
Mon Mar 12 - Fri Mar 16 Exp. 8: Distillation Prelab Yes (SQ Answers) Distillation procedure GC Movie
Mon Mar 19 - Fri Mar 23 Exp. 9: Isolation of Limonene Prelab Yes (SQ Answers) You will need the Handbook supplements on Green Chemistry and Optical Activity and Polarimetry.
Mon Mar 26 - Fri Mar 30 No labs (Spring break)
Mon Apr 2 - Fri Apr 6 Exp. 10: Modelling Chirality & Cycloalkanes No You can check out a model set if you don't have one.
Mon Apr 9 - Fri Apr 13 Exp. 11: Stereochemistry of Alkene Additions Prelab and worksheet No Instead of a prelab quiz, fill in the worksheet included with the lab.
You will need the Handbook supplement on Green Chemistry.
Mon Apr 16 - Fri Apr 20 Exp. 12: Regiochemistry of Eliminations Prelab Yes (SQ Answers) You can download the NMR spectrum for 3-methylcyclohexene.
Mon Apr 23 - Fri Apr 27 Exp. 13: Oxidation of Alcohols Prelab Yes (SQ Answers)
Mon Apr 30 - Fri May 4 Lab Check-out & Final Quiz Buff Onecard Yes For the final quiz, you should review the study questions, worksheets and prelab quizzes.