Flask Logo Organic Chemistry at CU Boulder

CHEM 3321: Laboratory for Organic Chemistry I

This lab course is for biochemistry and non-chemistry majors. A large part of Chem 3321 is spent learning techniques in organic chemistry, including TLC, distillation, extraction, crystallization, and IR spectroscopy. Once these techniques are mastered, they are employed in the final four labs of the semester. Two laboratory periods are devoted to working with molecular models sets to study nomenclature, conformational analysis, and stereochemistry.

TA office hours and emails are posted here.

LabDayTimeLocationTA
111TWR9:00 AM-11:50 AMEKLC M1B20Garrett Cairo
112TWR9:00 AM-11:50 AMEKLC M1B25Mitch Magrini
113TWR9:00 AM-11:50 AMEKLC M1B35Patrick Nordeen
114TWR9:00 AM-11:50 AMEKLC M1B65Jessica Burl
121TWR12:30 PM-3:20 PMEKLC M1B20Matthew Farmer
122TWR12:30 PM-3:20 PMEKLC M1B25Alyssa Scarbrough
123TWR12:30 PM-3:20 PMEKLC M1B35Dayan Wei
124TWR12:30 PM-3:20 PMEKLC M1B65Will Yi
141MWF12:30 PM-3:20 PM (MF)
4:00 PM-6:50 PM (W)
EKLC M1B20Rachel Weintraub

Schedule for Summer 2017

Day (labs 111-124) Day (lab 141) Experiment Bring Quiz Notes
Tue Jun 6 Mon Jun 5 Lab Check-in & Exp. 1: Lab Safety, ChemDraw & Excel Experiment Manual; laptop if you have one Yes Be sure to read the safety chapter in the handbook before lab. In case you haven't purchased the lab books yet, Experiment 1 and the safety chapter are available as PDFs. This Lab Safety Movie may also help.
You can also save time by downloading and installing ChemDraw ahead of time.
Wed Jun 7 Wed Jun 7 Exp. 2: IR Spectroscopy & Modeling Conformations (nothing) No IR Tutorial
You can check out a model set if you don't have one.
Thu Jun 8 Fri Jun 9 Exp. 3: NMR Spectroscopy (nothing) No Chapters 18 & 20 in the Lab Handbook and Chapter 13 in Loudon; Spectroscopy Tutorial and NMR Theory Tutorial on this web site.
The in-class Spectroscopy Worksheet (in the experiment manual) is due before you leave today. The Spectroscopy Homework is due later. Download this file and print the pages you are assigned.
Tue Jun 13 Mon Jun 12 Exp. 4: Practical NMR Completed Spectroscopy Homework, Laptop if you have one Yes You will need to download and install MestreNova. NMR data files can be downloaded for this lab.
Wed Jun 14 Wed Jun 14 Exp. 5: Thin Layer Chromatography and Melting Point Prelab Yes (SQ Answers) This is the first experiment this term that has a full lab report associated with it. Be sure to print a copy of the lab report rubric and attach it to your lab report when you turn it in at the next lab session.
TLC procedure and more
Melting points
Melting point movie (10:45 into the Crystallization movie)
Thu Jun 15 Fri Jun 16 Exp. 6: Extraction Prelab Yes (SQ Answers) Extraction procedure
Extraction movie
Remember to save the product from this lab for the next lab.
Tue Jun 20 Mon Jun 19 Exp. 7: Recrystallization Prelab Yes (SQ Answers) Recrystallization movie
Recrystallization procedure
Wed Jun 21 Wed Jun 21 Exp. 8: Distillation Prelab Yes (SQ Answers) Distillation procedure GC Movie
Thu Jun 22 Fri Jun 23 Exp. 9: Isolation of Limonene Prelab Yes (SQ Answers) You will need the Handbook supplements on Green Chemistry and Optical Activity and Polarimetry.
Tue Jun 27 Mon Jun 26 Exp. 10: Modelling Chirality & Cycloalkanes No You can check out a model set if you don't have one.
Wed Jun 28 Wed Jun 28 Exp. 11: Stereochemistry of Alkene Additions Prelab and worksheet No Instead of a prelab quiz, fill in the worksheet included with the lab.
You will need the Handbook supplement on Green Chemistry.
Thu Jun 29 Fri Jun 30 Exp. 12: Regiochemistry of Eliminations Prelab Yes (SQ Answers) You can download the NMR spectrum for 3-methylcyclohexene.
Wed Jul 5 Mon Jul 3 Exp. 13: Oxidation of Alcohols Prelab Yes (SQ Answers)
Thu Jul 6 Wed Jul 5 Lab Check-out & Final Quiz Buff Onecard Yes For the final quiz, you should review the study questions, worksheets and prelab quizzes.